Research Coordination Network on the
Digital Economy and the Environment
Growing the field and the funding

Workshops


Workshop #1 (Virtual): April 26, 2022

6:30 am – 9:30 am PDT | 7:30 am – 10:30 am MDT | 9:30 am – 12:30 pm EDT | 2:30 pm – 5:30 pm BST & IST | 3:30 pm – 6:30 pm CEST | 4:30 pm – 7:30 pm IDT & EEST

Goals: Set expectations and goals, clarify scope and focus, brainstorm ideas for research.


Workshop #2 (Virtual): June 23, 2022

Goals: Discuss goals, identify possible research priorities, identify emerging topics and leads.

  • Agenda
  • Meeting summary (June 23, 2022)
  • Alfred P. Sloan Foundation presentation (video)
  • Internet Society Foundation presentation (video)
  • Additional member introductions (video)
  • Member project presentations (video)
  • Methodological challenges presentation (video)

Workshop #3 (Virtual): September 22, 2022

7:30-9:00 am PDT |10:30am-12:00pm EDT | 3:30-5:00 pm GMT | 4:30-6:00 pm CET

  • Agenda
  • Meeting Summary (September 22nd, 2022)
  • How Green is the Digital Sharing Economy - Tamar Makov (slides)
  • Standardization and Research: Oil and Water - Pernilla Bergmark (slides)
  • Behavior Change and Sustainability- Rebecca Reczek (slides)
  • Electrified Transportation Service Networks- Anna Scaglione (slides)

Workshop #4 (Virtual): November 2 & 3, 2022 

6:30-9:30 am PDT | 9:30am-12:30pm EDT | 1:30-4:30 pm GMT | 2:30-5:30 pm CET

Goals: Share proposals on research topics, methodologies, and drafts of white papers.

  • Agenda
  • Research implications of Digital Reset - Steffen Lange (paper)
  • Research implications of upcoming OECD report - Johannes Kirnberger and Celine Caira (paper)
  • The research landscape of ICT for sustainability- Aiste Rugeviciute (paper) (slides)
  • Background paper: ICT, digitalisation and rebound effects - Ray Galvin (paper
  • Searching for leverage points in systems - Dave Rejeski (slides)
  • Panel discussion on system leverage points - George Kamiya (slides) 

Workshop #5 (Virtual): March 2023

Goals: Report on progress and continue to refine research topics and grant opportunities.

  • Agenda

Workshop #6 (Virtual): June 2023 

Goals: Continue to share proposals on research topics, methodologies, etc., and explore how to strengthen the network in the future.

  • Agenda

Workshop #7 (Virtual): September 2023

Goals: Discussion of follow-ups, evaluation of process, possible next steps.

  • Agenda